Fountains

State Museum Reserve Peterhof
Fountains
Description
Map
Video
Reviews

A particular highlight not only of Saint Petersburg, but the whole Russia as well, are the fountains of Peterhof. In the whole world you can hardly find a park complex abound with so many unique sculptures and fountain ensembles.

Aspiring to convert his summer residence into "Russian Versailles", Peter the Great tried to create a perfect ensemble of palaces and parks that will astonish every guest with its beauty.  So there were constructed 176 single fountains and 4fountain cascades.

The most spectacular fountain ensemble is considered to be the Grand Cascade. Its creation started in 1716 by the idea of the emperor himself. The composition is baroque stylish and encompasses over 60 single fountains and 250 sculptures. There is a statue of Samson tearing open lion’s jaws in the center of the Grand cascade. This Biblical plot symbolizes force and power of the whole complex. The Grand cascade is an improvised compositional center of the ensemble of palaces and parks and divides it into two halves.

Every park fountain has its own noteworthy history. Reaching Peterhof by a fast motorboat hydrofoil you’ll arrive at the lowest point of the park and be greeted with the most favourable and picturesque view on the park and the fountains, which will impress any guest of Peterhof.

Name*
City
E-mail
Rating*
Comment*
Отправить

Фонтаны

ГМЗ Петергоф
Фонтаны

Гордостью не только Санкт-Петербурга, но и всей России, бесспорно, являются фонтаны Петергофа. Во всем мире не найти паркового комплекса, который бы изобиловал таким количеством уникальных скульптур и фонтанных ансамблей.

Желая превратить свою летнюю резиденцию в «Русский Версаль», Петр I стремился создать совершенный дворцово-парковый ансамбль, красота которого будет поражать каждого гостя. Таким образом, на территории Петергофского парка было создано 176 одиночных фонтанов и 4 фонтанных каскада.

Самым грандиозным фонтанным ансамблем является Большой каскад. Его создание началось в 1716 году по идее самого императора. Композиция выполнена в стиле барокко и включает в себя более 60 самостоятельных фонтанов и 250 скульптур. В центре Большого каскада находится статуя Самсона, который раздирает пасть льва. Этот библейский сюжет символизирует силу и мощь всего комплекса. Большой каскад является условным композиционным центром дворцово-паркового ансамбля и делит его на две половины.

Каждый из фонтанов парка имеет свою историю и заслуживает отдельного внимания. Прибыв в Петергоф на быстроходном теплоходе метеор, Вы окажетесь в самой нижней точке парка, а перед Вами откроется наиболее выгодный и самый живописный вид на парк и фонтаны, которые не оставляют равнодушным ни одного гостя Петергофа.

Имя*
Город
E-mail
Оценка*
Комментарий*
Отправить