Valaam Spaso-Preobrazhensky Monastery

Valaam island
Valaam Monastery
Description
Map
Video
Reviews

Valaam monastery was founded on Valaam archipelago in the 16th century. The exact date of the foundation is unknown, though many historians agree that it happened during the period of Christianization of Kievan Rus'. However, according to the monastery legend, Valaam monastery appeared even in 960, the founders of it were Saint Herman and Sergius.

By 15th century the monastery has become very popular during that time there dwelled more than 600 monks. For some time Valaam island belonged to Finland and was merged in the USSR in 1940.

Going to Vallam by a hydrofoil will see you arrive at Monastery cove, where you'll start exploring the monastery. The territory of the complex comprises several beautiful gardens, grown by the monks. Despite the unfavorable climate, here you will be surprised at bushy vineyards, Japanese quince, apple-trees and other plants.

the major cathedral of the monastery is Spaso-Preobrazhensky Cathedral. It was erected after Peter the Great decree in 1720. Originally the cathedral building was made of wood, that's why it often suffered from fire like many other cathedrals of that time. At the end of 18th century Spaso-Preobrazhensky cathedral was rebuilt with Uspenskay church and Nikolskaya church in the vicinity.

Since its erection up to the present day, Valaam Monastery is considered to be one of the most important places for Christian pilgrims and a remarkable cultural and architectural sight. If you aspire to explore this marvellous landmark, the best way to do it will be to go on a hydrofoil trip to Valaam and fully enjoy the "pearl" of Lake Ladoga.

Name*
City
E-mail
Rating*
Comment*
Отправить

Валаамский Спасо-Преображенский монастырь

о. Валаам
Валаамский монастырь

Валаамский монастырь был основан на Валаамском архипелаге в XIV веке.  Точная дата основания монастыря не известна, однако многие историки сходятся во мнении, что это произошло в период Крещения Руси. Однако согласно монастырскому преданию, Валаамский монастырь появился еще в 960 году, основателями которого стали преподобные Герман и Сергий.

В XV веке монастырь завоевал большую популярность, в это время здесь проживало более 600 монахов. Некоторое время Валаамский остров принадлежал Финляндии, но в 1940 году остров окончательно вошел в состав СССР.

Отправившись на Валаам на метеоре, Вы причалите в Монастырскую бухту, откуда и начнется Ваше знакомство с Валаамским монастырем. На территории комплекса расположены несколько красивейших садов, выращенных самими монахами. Несмотря на неподходящий климат, здесь удивительным образом разрастаются виноградники, японская айва, яблони и другие растения.

Основным храмом монастыря является Спасо-Преображенский собор. Он был возведен по указу императора Петра I в 1720 году. Первоначально здание храма было выполнено из дерева, поэтому как и многие другие храмы того времени он страдал от частых пожаров. В конце XVIII века Спасо-Преображенский собор был отстроен заново, неподалеку от него были построены Успенская и Никольская церкви.

Со времени своего основания и по сей день Валаамский монастырь является важнейшим местом для православных паломников и значимым культурным и архитектурным памятником. Если и Вы стремитесь познакомиться с этим удивительным местом, то лучшим решением станет отправиться на Валаам на метеоре и оценить всю красоту «жемчужины» Ладожского озера. 

Имя*
Город
E-mail
Оценка*
Комментарий*
Отправить