Why our company?
Profitable prices!
favorable prices
all services online (sale, schedule and ticket availability)
guaranteed places
flexible group discount system
payment security

Samson Fountain

Peterhof State Museum reserve
Description
Map
Reviews

The Golden Samson, tearing the jaws of the lion, is the third composition that has been installed at this place, which we see near the lower stage of the Grand Cascade. The first sculptural group was made of lead by the famous architect Rastrelli.

The allegorical composition was established in 1735. It was dedicated to the 25th anniversary of the Poltava victory. According to the plan of Emperor Peter I, the plot was supposed to be different. Peter was thinking about one of the exploits of Hercules. He wanted to see a duel between the hero and the Lorna hydra, symbolizing the victory of Russia over Sweden.

The idea did not have time to realize, and returned to it already under Anna Ioannovna. However, another hero was chosen - Samson. It happened apparently because the Battle of Poltava had on the day of Samson the Stranger. And the lion was associated with the Swedish kingdom, as depicted on the coat of arms of this northern country.

Samson was installed twice more. The first time was in 1821, when they replaced the old figure with a new one. And in 1947, they installed the newly-cast Samson in the place of the original that was lost during the war.

In 2010, the sculpture was restored. On an excursion to the Lower Park of Peterhof, you can see the fountain "Samson" and learn its history.

Reviews
Description
Map
Name*
City
E-mail
Rating*
Comment*
Отправить

Почему мы?
Выгодные цены!
выгодные цены
всё онлайн (продажа, расписание и наличие билетов)
гарантированные места
гибкая система скидок на группы
безопасность платежей

Фонтан «Самсон»

ГМЗ Петергоф
Описание
Карта
Отзывы

Золотой Самсон, раздирающий пасть льву, которого мы видим около нижней ступени Большого каскада, – это уже третья по счёту композиция, установленная на этом месте. Первая скульптурная группа была изготовлена из свинца знаменитым архитектором Растрелли.

Аллегорическая композиция была установлена в 1735 году. Она посвящалась 25 годовщине Полтавской победы. По замыслу императора Петра I сюжет должен был быть иным. Пётр думал об одном из подвигов Геракла. Он хотел видеть поединок героя с Лорнейской гидрой, символизирующий победу России над Швецией.

Замысел не успели воплотить в жизнь, а вернулись к нему уже при Анне Иоанновне. Однако выбран был другой герой – Самсон. Произошло это видимо потому, что Полтавское сражение пришлось на день Самсона Странноприимца. А лев ассоциировался со Шведским королевством, так как изображён на гербе этой северной страны.

Самсона устанавливали ещё дважды. Первый раз в 1821 году, когда заменили обветшавшую фигуру новой. А в 1947 году установили вновь отлитого Самсона на месте утраченного во время войны оригинала.

В 2010 году скульптуру отреставрировали. На экскурсии в Нижний парк Петергофа можно увидеть фонтан «Самсон» и узнать его историю.

Имя*
Город
E-mail
Оценка*
Комментарий*
Отправить