The Naval cathedral of Saint Nicholas

Kronstadt
Naval Cathedral
Description
Map
Video
Reviews

The heart of the town of Kronstadt is the Naval Cathedral of Saint Nicholas located on Anchor square. As the main architect of the cathedral was appointed V. A. Kosyakov, and after the plan was approved by Nicholas the Second the construction works started in May 1903. A decade later in 1913 the cathedral was solemnly sanctified.

The plan of the cathedral mostly resembled Hagia Sophia of Constantinople, the interior of the church was Byzantine stylish and abounded with marine symbols.

During Soviet Union period the Naval Cathedral, like many other churches, lost its status of cultural and religious sacred site. At the end of the 1920-s church services stopped and the building started to function as cinema lounge named after M. Gorky. Icons, rizas and other valuable property was confiscated and partly stolen.

It took several decades to return the cathedral to the status of a major church of the Russian Navy. In 2002 there started structural restoration works, in 2013 the Naval Cathedral of Saint Nicholas was sanctified again and gained eparchial independence.

Today the Naval Cathedral of Saint Nicholas is one of the most beautiful ones not only in Russia, but in the whole Europe. You also have an opportunity to capture its beauty going on hydrofoil excursion to Kronstadt. Arriving from the Gulf of Finland you will be opened to the most picturesque view, and a breath-taking water tour with a fast motorboat will become an unforgettable experience.

Name*
City
E-mail
Rating*
Comment*
Отправить

Почему мы?
Выгодные цены!
выгодные цены
всё онлайн (продажа, расписание и наличие билетов)
гарантированные места
гибкая система скидок на группы
безопасность платежей

Никольский Морской собор

г.Кронштадт

Сердцем города Кронштадт является Никольский морской собор, расположенный на Якорной площади. Главным архитектором собора был назначен В. А. Косяков, и после утверждения плана императором Николаем II, в мае 1903 года началось строительство собора.  Спустя десятилетие в 1913 году состоялось торжественное освещение храма.

План собора во многом был схож с храмом Святой Софии в Константинополе, внутренняя отделка собора выдержана в византийском стиле и изобиловала символами морской тематики.

В годы советской власти Никольский морской собор, как и множество других храмов по всей стране, потерял свой статус культурной и религиозной святыни. В конце в 1920-х годов в соборе прекратились церковные службы, и здание стало функционировать как кинотеатр имени М. Горького. Иконы, оклады и другое значимое имущество собора было конфисковано и частично разворовано.

Понадобилось много десятилетий для того чтобы вернуть собору статус главного храма Российского флота. В 2002 году начались капитальные реставрационные работы, и в 2013 году Никольский морской собор был вновь освящен и получил епархиальную независимость.

В наши дни Никольский морской собор является одним из самых красивых не только в России, но и во всей Европе. Оценить всю его красоту сможете и Вы, отправившись на прогулку по Кронштадту на метеоре. Подходя к храму со стороны Финского залива, перед Вами откроется самый живописный вид, а захватывающая водная прогулка на быстроходном теплоходе оставит самые незабываемые впечатления.

Имя*
Город
E-mail
Оценка*
Комментарий*
Отправить