Fortress Oreshek

Shlisselburg
Fortress Oreshek
Description
Map
Video
Reviews

In the vicinity of Saint Petersburg there is an ancient Russian fortress Oreshek. The fortification was named after Orekhov island where it is situated.

The fortress was founded in the 16th century by Prince Yuriy Danilovich, a grandson of Alexander Nevsky. For a long time Oreshek served as the major defensive construction on the border with Sweden. Favourable location of the fortress, giving access to the Gulf of Finland along the Neva caused many year battles between Russian and Swedish troops for its conquest.

In 1611 Sweden attempt to force a fortress turned out to be successful and during 90 years it remained in the ownership of Sweden. The Swedes has neither destroyed it not reconstructed; the only change concerned its name which then sounded like Noteburg.

In the course of Great Northern War one of the primary goals of the emperor was to regain the fortress. Especially for this purpose 13 ships were built, which started their attack in 1702. After ten days of fierce battles Russian Army managed to win back the fortress, which was renamed by Peter the Great's decree to Shlisselburg. Shlisselburg is translated from German as "key town". This unusual name is determined by the fact, that fortress conquest was a key event for Russian victory in the Great Northern War.

Later with the erection of Kronstadt forts the fortress has lost its military value. Oreshek casemates started to serve as a prison for political prisoners and state betrayers. The chapter of Shlisselburg history is connected with dark and gloomy events as the prisoners were kept in extremely severe conditions. Among the prisoners there were many Decembrist members of Narodnaya Volya movement, even some imperial dynasty members who claimed the throne.

Going to a hydrofoil trip to the fortress Oreshek you will not only learn the history of this legendary place and enjoy the scenery of Orekhov island, but also empathize with those who stepped on the land of Shlisselburg several centuries ago.

Name*
City
E-mail
Rating*
Comment*
Отправить

Крепость Орешек

г.Шлиссельбург
Крепость Орешек

В непосредственной близости от Санкт-Петербурга расположена древняя русская крепость Орешек. Свое название оборонительное сооружение получило в честь Орехового острова, на котором и расположена крепость.

Крепость была основана в XIV веке князем Юрием Даниловичем, внуком Александра Невского. Долгое время Орешек служил главным оборонительным объектом на границе со Швецией. Выгодное географическое положение крепости, обеспечивающее доступ к Финскому заливу по Неве, послужило причиной того, что за владение над крепостью проходили многолетние сражения между российскими и шведскими войсками.

В 1611 году попытка Швеции захватить Орешек оказалась успешной, и на протяжении 90 лет оставался в ее владениях.  Шведы не разрушали и не перестраивали крепость, а единственное изменение, которое они внесли, касалось названия, которое теперь звучало как Нотебург.

В ходе Северной войны одной из главных целей императора было отвоевание крепости. Специально для этого было построено 13 кораблей, которые в 1702 году начали штурм крепости. Спустя десять дней ожесточенных сражений российской армии удалось вновь завоевать  крепость, которая по приказу Петра I начала носить название Шлиссельбург. С немецкого языка Шлиссельбург переводится как «город-ключ».  Такое необычное название объясняется тем фактом, что завоевание крепости стало ключевым событием для победы российских войск в Северной войне.

Позже когда были возведены Кронштадтские форты, военное предназначение крепости потеряло свой смысл. Казематы Орешка стали служить тюрьмой для политических преступников и государственных изменников. Эта глава истории Шлиссельбургской крепости связана с мрачными и тяжелыми событиями, ведь узников содержали в крайне суровых условиях. Среди заключенных в Орешке было большое количество декабристов, народовольцев и даже некоторые представители императорской династии, претендующие на престол.

Отправившись в путешествие в крепость Орешек на метеоре, Вы не только узнаете историю этого легендарного места и насладитесь видами Орехового острова, но и возможно ощутите, что чувствовали те, кто вступал на землю Шлиссельбурга несколько веков назад.

Имя*
Город
E-mail
Оценка*
Комментарий*
Отправить